Cams Hall Estate is another one of our courses which has a long and rich history dating back to 1086.
In World War II, the estate was requisitioned by the Admiralty, who occupied the building until 1948. The structure was heavily damaged by the explosion of ammunition barges at Bedenham pier in Portsmouth Harbour which destroyed the roof and blew out all of the windows, leaving it a ruined shell. It was sold in 1951 but left to deteriorate, and fireplaces and roof leading were stolen.
The Estate and surrounding land was bought by Strand Harbour Securities Ltd in 1991 and the renovation into what we now recognise, could begin.
The Golf Course itself was visualised and transformed by Peter Alliss and Clive Clark, two leading international Golf Course Architects. Utilising the ancient parkland with its beautiful specimen trees and the pretty coastal landscape, they have created a course of unusual beauty and variety.
All around are views across the water and towards the architectural splendours of Cams Hall itself. This is a true example of how something which was once destroyed and ruined, can be re-built into something beautiful and successful.
Since its inception, Cams Hall Estate Golf Club has been a popular and well-respected course. See for yourself, the charm and beauty of this course. Book a tee-time at Cams Hall today.